Drug Possession

Facing charges for drug possession in Denton County is a serious matter, and Texas has some of the strictest laws in the country regarding controlled substances. Depending on the drug and the amount you allegedly possess, a conviction can result in fines of thousands of dollars, as well as mandatory jail time. If you’ve been charged with drug possession ,you need an experienced attorney who will aggressively defend you against these charges. At the Wheeler Law Office, we know how much is at stake in drug possession cases-our lead attorney is a former prosecutor who knows the tactics the D.A.’s office uses to get convictions. Let our experience work for you.

Controlled Substance Classifications

Under Texas law, drugs or controlled substances, are classified in different ways. The Texas Controlled Substances Act divides controlled substances into four different penalty groups.

Penalty Group 1

This group contains the most dangerous and addictive substances. These include:

  • Cocaine
  • Heroin
  • Morphine
  • Opium
  • Oxycodone

Penalty Group 2

These drugs are also highly addictive, and have hallucinogenic properties This group includes:

  • Amphetamine
  • Ecstasy
  • MDMA (Molly)
  • Mescaline

Penalty Group 3

These drugs are somewhat less addictive, and have common medical uses when prescribed by a doctor. These include:

  • Xanax
  • Steroids
  • Ritalin
  • Hydrocodone

Penalty Group 4

These have the lowest potential for abuse. Penalty group 4 drugs are mixtures or compounds generally containing low amounts of codeine or opium.

Penalties for Drug Possession

Penalties for drug possession depend both on the drug penalty group, as well as the amount of the drug in possession. Sections 481.115-481.118 of the Texas Health and Safety Code lists drug possession penalties
as follows:

  • Penalty Group 1 and 2: minimum penalties up to $10,000 fine and/or 180 days in jail
  • Penalty Group 3: minimum penalties up to $4,000 fine and/or 1 year in jail
  • Penalty Group 4: minimum penalties up to $2,000 fine and/or 180 days in jail

It’s important to note these are minimum penalties for smaller possession amounts. Maximum penalties for larger amounts can include fines up to $50,000 and anywhere from 5 to 99 years in prison.

Contact Our Experienced Denton County Drug Possession Defense Attorney Today

If you’re facing charges of drug possession-regardless of the amount-contact our experienced drug possession attorney today. At the Wheeler Law Office, our lead attorney Alan Wheeler uses his experience as a former prosecutor to aggressively defend clients facing drug possession charges. These charges are a serious matter, carrying heavy fines and jail time. Criminal charges based on drug possession remain permanently on your record, impairing your ability to get jobs or promotions, and causing damage to your reputation. Contact our experienced Denton Drug Possession attorney right away for a free, initial consultation. We offer flat fee pricing and payment plans affordable for any budget. When you’re facing drug possession charges, you can’t afford not to have a serious attorney aggressively defending your case. 

Call the Wheeler Law Office today at (940)-465-3178.