Responding To Family Violence Charges
In April of 2018, a woman in the Denton area was arrested after slapping her 19-year-old daughter’s face several times during a heating argument about cleaning the bathroom. Law enforcement was called to the scene of the dispute. The mother’s account of the story matched versions provided by the daughter as well as a male witness. The daughter is reported to have asked the mother for money so the daughter could return to school in Colorado. The mother replied that she would give the daughter money if the daughter would clean the house. When the mother returned to the house, the daughter and a friend were cleaning the residence. The mother grew mad because she did not like other people inside of her house while she was gone. The daughter had also not cleaned the bathroom. After the daughter made a rude comment, the mother struck the daughter in the face, head, and body. The mother was taken to the Denton City Jail and charged with assault family violence.
Assault of a family member (which is sometimes referred to as domestic violence or domestic abuse) is one of the most frequently charged crimes in the state of Texas. If you find yourself charged with this offense, it is often a wise idea to obtain the assistance of a criminal defense attorney who will fight for the results you deserve.
Types of Domestic Violence Charges
There is not a separate offense of “domestic violence” under Texas law. Some of the most common charges that arise in domestic violence cases include the following:
- Assault (causing bodily injury) to a family member, which is a class A misdemeanor that results in 365 days in jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
- Assault of a family member by impeding breath (choking), which is a third degree felony that results in up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
- Assault of a family member with a prior assault is a third degree felony that results in up to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
- Multiple assault of a family member is classified as a third degree felony that results in up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Dropping Domestic Violence Charges
Many people who are arrested for assault of a family member often ask whether it is possible to have these charges dismissed. The best way to pursue this option is to discuss your situation with an experienced criminal defense attorney. In many cases, our legal counsel has been able to have these charges dismissed.
Speak with an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney Today
At Wheeler Law Office, our legal counsel has significant experience helping people respond to a variety of domestic violence related charges. Contact our law office today to discover how we can help you respond to this situation and obtain the best results possible.
(image courtesy of Daiga Elleby)