How Texas Approaches Marijuana
A man in the Denton area was recently found sitting in the Mack Park Apartments parking lot in a vehicle with a small vial of cocaine, used syringes, and metal spoons. Someone first reported the man passed out in a car with a syringe in his hand. After law enforcement arrived, the man was found smoking a cigarette with a syringe in plain view. When law enforcement explained why they had contacted the man, the man responded by handing over a container with a pipe that had traces of marijuana residue. Law enforcement officers eventually requested that the man place his hands on the steering wheel. After the man left the vehicle, law enforcement uncovered a scale, grinder, syringes, and a powder substance that was later determined to be cocaine. At the Denton City Jail, the man was charged with possession of a controlled substance between one and four grams.
Possessing and distributing marijuana is illegal under Texas law, beginning with the state’s 1919 ban on the possession of marijuana. As a result, people who are charged with marijuana-related offenses in the state of Texas should understand the various laws regarding the drug in the state. It is also important to remember that if you are charged with the violation of one of these laws, you should obtain the assistance of a skilled criminal defense attorney.
No Changes in Texas
A large number of states have recently changed or softened their approach to the possession or distribution of marijuana. While some states have medical marijuana programs, other states have made possession of the drug a civil offense. The state of Texas, however, has not yet changed its approach to marijuana. In the state of Texas, possession and distribution of marijuana is still illegal and can result in a person facing substantial jail time. Texas also prohibits the possession of marijuana paraphernalia.
Marijuana Charges at the Local Level
Some cities and counties in Texas have begun to adopt unique policies toward the use of marijuana. In some counties, if a person is caught in possession of marijuana, he or she is offered the option to avoid criminal charges by taking an educational class. In addition to these local policies, there are also legislative efforts to decriminalize marijuana. These measures, however, have yet to find wide support in Texas.
Possession of Marijuana
It is important to understand that possession of even the smallest amount of marijuana is punishable by a maximum of 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. The state of Texas can also suspend a person’s driver’s license for a period of up to 180 days.
Contact an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney
It is important to remember that there are several defenses to respond to the variety of marijuana charges that can arise in Texas. Contact an experienced attorney at Wheeler Law Office if you are facing any of these charges. Our legal counsel understands how to best respond to these situations as well as how to navigate the various obstacles that arise. Contact our law firm today for assistance.
(image courtesy of Shane Rounce)