Understanding Assault Charges
The owner of the recently closed Rubber Gloves Rehearsal Studios was arrested earlier in the month when he punched a former worker at the company in the eye. According to the arrest affidavit, law enforcement officers were called to the scene of Andy’s Bar where the incident occurred. The worker who was struck told law enforcement that he got into an argument with the business’s owner after the owner accused the man of blowing smoke in his face. The business owner is reported to have driven away from the scene prior to the officers arriving. The business owner later admitted to punching the worker in the face because he had blown cigarette smoke in his face. The man was arrested and taken to the Denton City Jail where he was charged with assault and driving while intoxicated. The man was also placed on a $7,500 bail. In the state of Texas, assault charges can result in large fees and lengthy time in jail. If you have been accused of assault, one of the best ways to respond is to immediately obtain the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney.
What Constitutes Assault
In the state of Texas, assault occurs when a person recklessly or intentionally causes physical harm to another, intentionally threatens physical harm, or intentionally uses provocative or offensive physical contact against another person.
The Different Types of Assault Charges in Texas
Many people in the state of Texas are not aware that there are actually several different types of assault. The various assault charges with which a person in the state can be charged include the following:
- Class A misdemeanor assault encompasses assault against disabled or elderly individuals. Penalties for these fees include up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $4,000.
- Class B misdemeanor assault mostly applies to sport situations including situations in which a person assaults another individual in retaliation at a sporting event or even during a game. It is important to note that physical activity that occurs during a sport is not an assault. Penalties for these offenses include up to six months in prison and a fine of up to $2,000.
- Class C misdemeanor assault applies when one person physically touches another person in an offensive manner or threatens harm or injury without any physical injury occurring. These charges can result in a person facing up to $500 in fines.
It is important to note that these are just misdemeanors and that a person in the state can also end up facing felony assault charges.
Obtain the Service of a Texas Criminal Defense Attorney
If you are convicted of assault in the state of Texas, you can end up facing some very serious penalties. As a result, it is often in your best interest that you obtain the assistance of a highly experienced criminal defense attorney like the legal counsel at Wheeler Law Offices. During a free consultation, our legal counsel will discuss your various options and strategies to responding to your charge. Call us today.
(image courtesy of Andrew Pons)