Texas state law requires a person to be at least 21 years old in order to purchase or consume alcoholic beverages. Despite the law, the fact of the matter is that for thousands of underage drinkers, gaining access to alcohol is easy, and drinking is a part of everyday life. Unfortunately, many of these underage drinkers end up behind the wheel of an automobile, where the results can be tragic. To counteract drunk driving among minors, the state of Texas has increased penalties for minors convicted of Driving While Intoxicated. These penalties are designed not only to prevent minors from getting behind the wheel drunk, but also to educate them as to the dangers of DWI, in the hopes that they make better choices once they are of legal drinking age.
Minors Charged With Driving Under The Influence in Denton County
A minor is considered to be any person under the age of 21. The state of Texas has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to minors and drunk driving. This means that, if you’re under the age of 21, any amount of alcohol detected in your system through a breath or blood alcohol concentration test can result in a charge of Driving Under The Influence (DUI). Penalties for minors charged with DUI include:
- 60 day license suspension;
- Fines up to $500;
- Requirement to perform community service;
- Mandatory alcohol awareness classes.
If you have multiple DUI violations, these penalties can increase. DUI shows up as a misdemeanor charge, and while you may eventually be able to have this charge expunged from your record, it can still cause serious damage.
Penalties for Minors Convicted of DWI
A minor aged 17 or over with a breath or blood alcohol concentration of .08 or greater can be charged with Driving While Intoxicated. Potential penalties for minors convicted of DWI
are as follows:
- License suspension of up to 1 year;
- Fines up to $2,000;
- Mandatory jail time up to 180 days;
- Mandatory alcohol awareness classes;
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device;
- Requirements to perform community service.
For an underage person, the negative impacts resulting from a DWI conviction can affect every aspect of their life, including education, extra-curricular activities, and after school employment. If you have any prior DUI or DWI charges, you may be facing felony charges. Young people in particular need the help of an attorney who will aggressively defend them against their DWI charges, an attorney who knows the ins and outs of the court system, and can advise them on the best strategies
Call Our Experienced Texas DUI/DWI Attorney Today
At the Wheeler Law Office, lead attorney Alan Wheeler brings his experience as a former prosecutor to aggressively defend underage clients charged with Driving Under the Influence and Driving While Intoxicated. These are serious charges for a young person to face. If you’ve been charged with DUI or DWI, contact our experienced Denton DUI/DWI attorney right away. Our office offers a free, initial consultation, as well as flat fee pricing and payment plans affordable for any budget. Call us today at (940)-465-3178. Your future could be at stake without a strong legal defense against your charges-call the Wheeler Law Office today.