Free Case Evaluation

Call 940-465-3178 or Submit the Form

We have the experience necessary to fight for you! The Wheeler Law Office is available Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5pm. We offer a free consultation and we are prepared to travel to you to discuss your legal options if, for example, you are currently in jail.

Fill out the free case evaluation form, and we will get back to you shortly.

DUI in Texas

Recently a Texas teenager appeared in court accused of causing a crash that killed two women. The fatal accident occurred near Colorado Boulevard and Arapahoe Road in Centennial. The teen, Jones, was driving a blue sedan when he collided with two women in a silver car. Following this accident, Jones was charged with DUI and two counts of vehicular homicide. Jones admitted to having consumed three beers.

It is critical that you contact an attorney immediately if you have been accused or arrested of either DUI or DWI. Your lawyer will be able to help you much more if you contact them as soon as you can. Please remember that the police are not your friends and are not trying to help you out of your situation. For this reason, never speak to them without an attorney present. If you live in Denton County and have been arrested for a DWI or a DUI in Northern Texas, UNT, or any Suburb of Denton County, contact Wheeler Law Office today for a free initial consultation!

DUIs in Texas and the Law

The legal drinking age in Texas is 21. Texas is a zero-tolerance state. If a chemical test reveals that a driver under 21 years of age has a blood alcohol content (“BAC”) above 00.00%, the driver will likely be cited for driving under the influence. Texas distinguishes DWIs from DUIs. Per Texas law, only drivers under 21 years of age can be charged with a DUI. DUIs in Texas are a Class C offense. If you are charged with a DUI for the first time, you may face a fine of up to $1000.

As you see, a DUI can cost you. There is, however, a way to save your license from being immediately suspended following a DUI charge. To preserve your right to drive, the following must take place:

  • The officer making the arrest should have gave you paperwork regarding the suspension of your driver’s license;
  • You have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request an Administrative License Revocation (“ALR”) hearing where you are given the opportunity to contest the suspension of your license or your license will be suspended automatically;
  • If you fail to request said ALR hearing within 15 days of your arrest, there is most likely no way to prevent your license from being suspended.

Hire an Attorney for Your Case

In all, there are several powerful defenses to a DUI charge in Texas. If you have been charged with a DUI anywhere in Texas, regardless of the circumstances, it is imperative that you speak with an experienced DUI attorney. At the Wheeler Law office, we are available 24/7. We offer a FREE consultation, with flat fee pricing and payment plans to fit every budget. Call us today at (940)-465-3178. Serving Denton, Collin, Dallas, Tarrant and surrounding counties.

Blog categories:

You’ve Got Rights. We Protect Them.

CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION      940-465-3178

Wheeler Law Office
Denton Criminal Defense Lawyer
Located at: 101 S. Woodrow Lane, Suite 102
Denton, TX 76205
Phone: (940) 465-3178
Website: http://www.wheelerlawoffices.com